Cinematographer Edward Lachman ASC, walk the red carpet of the Palais des Festivals at the 71st Festival de Cannes to receive the 2018 Pierre Angénieux ExcelLens in Cinematography, accompanied by film director and long time collaborator Todd Haynes. He was escorted also by Raphaël Keller, Director of Innovation Video and Technical industries at the CNC- Centre National du Cinéma et de l’Image Animée, Severine Serrano, Managing Director, Angénieux International Sales & Marketing, and Emmanuel Sprauel, Vice-President of Angénieux and Cinematographer Cecile Zhang.
Lachman was the cinematographer on four movies directed by Tod Haines, Far from Heaven, I’m not There, Carol and Wonderstruck. 

A delegation of the new artistic generation posed in a photo call with cinematographer Ed Lachman.   Among the actors were, American actor Michael Pitt, French actors Élodie Bouchez and actor Nahuel Pérez Biscayart, and French-Spanish actress Astrid Bergès-Frisbey.

Edward Lachman received an Angénieux Optimo 28-76 lens specially engraved to his name as a trophy, from Emmanuel Sprauel, Vice-President Angénieux brand who said: "As the President of the Angenieux brand, be sure all people in Angenieux share the passion to help you bring your vision to life. We all are truly dedicated to make the best products for your eyes and hands so that you can simply forget them because it simply suits you the best", said Sprauel.

Tod Haines and Ed Lachman viewing the video 
tribute video prepared for the occasion 

During his speech, Ed Lachman said: “For me the challenge of cinematography is revealing or trying to evoke the poetic or psychological authenticity of the image in the story you are telling...Images aren’t only around pleasant pictorial aesthetics but also can be the projection of the emotions for the characters in the story. Images are about experiencing something with your camera, it is the immediacy of that experience inside yourself that you are able to translate, and you can share in a documentary or narrative form.”

Angénieux also distinguished Chinese young cinematographer Cecile Zhang (right) who graduated with honors from the Beijing Film Academy – got the opportunity to use an Angénieux zoom lens of her choice on her next project. She received this Angénieux special encouragement from Severine Serrano’s (far right) Angénieux Managing Director and famous Chinese actor Xu Zheng.

The ceremony reached a particular emotional point with an impressive series of video testimonials from directors, actresses and actors who crossed Ed’s creative life (Christopher Doyle, Julianne Moore, Mark WIener, John Malkovich, Volker Schlondorff, Peter Sellars, Ulrich Seidl, Michelle Williams, Werner Herzog, Willem Dafoe, Sofia Coppola, Greta Gerwig, Steven Soderbergh, Meryl Streep, Wim Wenders) and a very nice attention from Daft Punk member and former creative collaborator Thomas Bangalter from Random Access Memories Album release time.

About the “Pierre Angénieux ExcelLens in Cinematography”
The Pierre Angénieux ExcelLens in Cinematography award ceremony pays tribute to a director of photography whose work has marked the history of world cinema. After Philippe Rousselot (2013), Vilmos Zsigmond (2014), Roger A. Deakins (2015), Peter Suschitzky (2016), Christopher Doyle (2017), Edward Lachman distinguished cinematographer is the 6th awarded.

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...