The Society of Camera Operators (SOC)  was honored this year to present the Governor’s Award to Mr. Michael Keaton for his extraordinary body of work and commitment to the craft of Camera Operating on February 11, 2017 at the Loews Hollywood Hotel.

Mr. Keaton’s most recent successes with Birdman or The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance, Spotlight, and The Founder are examples of his expanding creative genius and the depth and variety of his performances. Mr. Keaton has also been in the director’s chair with The Merry Gentlemen, starring Mary McDonald.

The Society of Camera Operators (SOC) advances the art, craft, and creative contributions of the Camera Operator. The SOC is an internationally recognized professional honorary society. The core activities of the Society are the annual SOC Awards, publishing the Society’s magazine Camera Operator and our charitable commitment to The Vision Center at Children’s Hospital Los Angeles.

 SOC AWARDS 2017- Nominees and Honorees

SOC Camera Operator Lifetime Achievement Award
Garrett Brown

SOC Camera Technician Lifetime Achievement Award
Bobby Mancuso

SOC Still Photographer Lifetime Achievement Award
Phil Caruso

 La La Land Camera Operator Ari Robbins 
won SOC Feature Film Award.

Andrew Mitchell won the SOC Television Camera Operator Award
for The People v. OJ Simpson: America Crime Story.

SOC Mobile Camera Platform Operator Lifetime
 Achievement Award Mike Moad

SOC Technical Achievement Award
That Cat: The Patented Silent Cat Camera Slider

 SOC Technical Achievement Award
SHOTOVER: K1 6-Axis Stabilizer

Camera Operator of the Year - Film

Stephen Campanelli, SOC – Sully
David Emmerichs, SOC – Nocturnal Animals
Mark Goellnicht, SOC – Hacksaw Ridge
Petr Hlinomaz – Manchester By the Sea
Jacques Jouffret, SOC – Deep Water Horizon
Ari Robbins, SOC – La La Land -WINNER

Camera Operator of the Year - Television
Andrew Mitchell, SOC – The People v. OJ Simpson: American Crime Story- WINNER
Ben Semanoff, SOC & Bruce MacCallum, SOC – The Night Of
Steven Matzinger & Greg Smith – Westworld
Bob Gorelick, SOC – Stranger Things
Aaron Medick, SOC – Mr. Robot
Sean Savage, Assoc. BSC & ACO – Game of Thrones

La La Land Camera Operator Ari Robbins Won SOC Feature Film Award.
Phil Caruso was handed the SOC Still Photography Lifetime Achievement Award.
Steadicam Inventor/operator Garret Brown received Camera Operator Lifetime 
Achievement Award. The Honorees and winner are accompanied by SOC 
President George Billinger.

John Toll, ASC presented the  SOC Mobile Camera Platform Operator Lifetime
 Achievement Award to Mike Moad
 Dr Thomas Lee, Vision Center, Children Hospital Los Angeles &  
Nichole Huenergardt, Chapman /Leonard Studio Equipment

 Caleb Deschanel, ASC  presented the SOC Camera Operator 
Lifetime Achievement Award to Garrett Brown

Tim Smith, Amy Kawadler, & Canon EOS Digital Cinema  team 
attended the award ceremony

 Ari Robbins, SOC addresses the audience on his experiences camera operating 
                                the multi-award winner feature film "La La Land"

For a extensive gallery of photos of the SOC Awards visit: SOC Awards  2017 Albums

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...