On Saturday night at the Hyatt Regency in Century City, Austrian born cinematographer Christian Berger ACC, took top honors at the 24th Annual American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) Outstanding Achievement Awards for his masterly neo-realist look in black and white photography on the German language drama "The White Ribbon" (Das Wiese Band) by Palme D'Or 2009 winner director, Michael Haneke. The White Ribbon, Berger and Haneke are also nominated for Best Cinematography and Best Foreign Language Film for the upcoming 82nd Academy Awards.

Steven Poster , ASC and guest

Bill Bennett, ASC and guests

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC and Tim Roth

Daryn Okada, ASC and Zooey Deschanel

Jack Green ASC,  Dicky Deats and Jack Green. Jr.

 Larry Parker accepting his honorary ASC membership

Richard Crudo, ASC and Robyn Rosenfeld

Julio Macat ASC,  Spanish Goya Award Winner 
Javier Aguisarrobe and Vilmos Zgimond, ASC

 Ron Garcia, ASC and guest

 Christian Tschida, Sebastian Lumme, Geoffrey Chapell 

Dan Kneece, SOC and guest

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC and guests

Mr.and Mrs. Ron Vidor, SOC

Wally Pfister, ASC and guests

Emily Deschanel

 Mary Jo Deschanel and Daryn Okada, ASC

Michael Negrin, ASC presenting the ASC Presidents
Award tio his father Sol Negrin, ASC

Morgan Freeman, ASC Board of Governors recipient
and Michael Goi, ASC President

Mrs.and Mr. Sol Negrin, ASC and Chris Doyle 

Mr.and Mrs.Benji Bakshi
Shawn Steiner and guests

The ASC was founded during the dawn on the industry in 1919 for the purpose of advancing the evolving art and craft of filmmaking. There are more than 300 members today from countries around the world. ASC also has some 150 associate members from allied sectors of the motion picture and television industries. For more information about the ASC, visit

George Leon photo ©2010

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...